Arjun Malhotra

Arjun Malhotra:  Chief Mentor.

Pic Arjun Malhotra

Mr. Malhotra serves as Chairman of Headstrong’s Board of Directors. Prior to Headstrong he was Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of TechSpan, which merged with Headstrong in October 2003.

A pioneer of the Indian IT industry, Mr. Malhotra founded TechSpan in 1998 with funding from Goldman Sachs and Walden International. The merger of TechSpan with Headstrong has built an end-to-end services organization. Mr. Malhotra led the seamless integration across businesses and cultures, resulting in Headstrong’s recognition as one of the fastest-growing IT-based Financial Services companies.

Mr. Malhotra has a long string of entrepreneurial successes. He co-founded the HCL group in 1975, taking it from a six-person “garage operation” to one of India’s largest Information Technology corporations. The first leading Indian entrepreneur to relocate to USA, Mr. Malhotra took over HCL’s US operation in 1989 and grew it to nearly $100 million annual revenues. In 1992 he ran the HCL-HP joint venture in India, and in 1996 he set up and ran the joint venture with Deluxe Corporation. He consolidated and grew HCL operations in Hong Kong, Australia and New Zealand.

Mr. Malhotra studied at The Doon School, Dehradun, and Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur. He graduated from IIT with B.Tech. (Hons.) in Electronics & Electrical Communication Engineering and received the Dr. B.C. Roy Gold Medal. In 1985, he attended the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School.

Mr. Malhotra is a Member of the Board of Governors, IIT (Kharagpur) Foundation, Member of the Board of Governors of the Indian School of Business, Hyderabad, and Member of the Indian Public Schools Society, which runs The Doon School. He is currently Co-Chair of the Pan-IIT Alumni Association. He founded the Prof. G.S. Sanyal School of Telecommunications at IIT Kharagpur through a personal endowment. He is Chairman of Vision 2020, an alumni initiative to create a $200 million endowment fund for IIT Kharagpur by the year 2020. In “recognition of his outstanding contribution and services to the Institute”, Mr. Malhotra was declared Life Fellow of IIT Kharagpur in February 2003.

Mr. Malhotra was awarded the Albert Einstein Technology Medal for 2001. The Award salutes the high tech industry’s vanguard who “with their vision…have revolutionized the perception of time and space, linking mankind with ever growing speed and ingenuity. Their cutting-edge breakthroughs have empowered countless others.” The Institution of Engineers (India) has named Mr. Malhotra an Eminent Engineering Personality.

Mr. Malhotra is a Fellow of the Institute of Electronics & Telecommunication Engineers, India (FIETE), and a Member of the Institute of Engineers, India (MIE). He has served on the Board of Governors for the Delhi College of Arts & Commerce, University of Delhi, and as Vice President of The Doon School Old Boys Society.

He is currently a member of the Executive Council of NASSCOM which is India’s representative organization for the IT & ITES industry. Mr. Malhotra is a Charter Member and Chairman of the Global Board of Trustees of The Indus Entrepreneurs (TiE), a non-profit network with over 10,000 members across 44 chapters in 9 countries. TiE fosters global entrepreneurship through mentoring, networking and education. He is also one of the founding members of SPIC-MACAY, the Society for Promotion of Indian Classical Music and Culture amongst Youth. This is today India’s largest non-government, not for profit, social and cultural organization.

Leave a Response